Monday, August 26, 2019

VIPKID Overview and My Story


In February 2019, I started teaching ESL (English as a second language) to kids in China through VIPKID! This has been a great little part-time job for me. It's flexible, it's fulfilling, and it is fun! I set my own schedule and I teach from my home (or anywhere I want).
A friend had shared with me that she was teaching and casually mentioned I should look into it. Well life happened and I forgot about it, but a year later, I came across an article that talked about VIPKID and thought that is something I would be interested in. I have two small kids and wasn't looking for a job but thought maybe I could do this since it is from home. Plus, it would give me something for me! So I messaged my friend and it turns out she was teaching for VIPKID and she helped me get started.

Now I should mention that my college degree and past work experience have had nothing to do with teaching. In fact, other than my first semester at college, I have never even considered teaching but it has turned out to be something I really enjoy.  The extra income for our family has been very helpful too.

I wanted to share this job because it has been such a blessing to me, and I know many of us are looking for extra ways to make an income. Teaching with VIPKID is a great way to do that!  It is a bonus because it is a job from home, the hours are flexible, and the kids are really CUTE!

Here is a little more about VIPKID and how teaching ESL works!

CLASSES:
Classes are 1:1 via the internet with a student in China and last for 25 minutes. Classes are scheduled in 30 minute blocks and teachers set their own schedules. Lesson plans are provided by VIPKID.

REQUIREMENTS:
A Bachelors degree or higher (in anything)
Eligibility to work in the US or Canada
At least 1 year of teaching experience/working with kids
 (mentoring, homeschooling, tutoring, coaching, and other life experiences)
**if you aren't sure, ask me! 

PAY:
Anywhere from $14-$22/hour plus there are some additional bonuses. ** In my experience and from what I have heard other teachers make, I would say it is in the $18-20/hour range
                          
HOURS:
Students in China take classes on weekdays between 6-9 PM (Beijing time) and between 8:30 AM-10 PM (Beijing time) on Saturday and Sunday. The hours translate to our time zone as follows: 

(March-November)
Evenings in China (7 days/week)
Weekends in China 
East Coast Time (EST)
6-9 AM
8:30 PM-9 AM (Fri/Sat Nights)
Central Time (CST)
5-8 AM
7:30 PM-8 AM (Fri/Sat Nights)
Mountain Time (MST)
4-7 AM
6:30 PM-7 AM (Fri/Sat Nights)
Pacific Time (PST)
3-6 AM
5:30 PM- 6 AM (Fri/Sat Nights)

*When the time changes (China does not observe Daylight Savings time)
(November-March)
Evenings in China (7 days/week)
Weekends in China 
East Coast Time (EST)
5-8 AM
7:30 PM-8 AM (Fri/Sat Nights)
Central Time (CST)
4-7 AM
6:30 PM-7 AM (Fri/Sat Nights)
Mountain Time (MST)
3-6  AM
    5:30 PM-6 AM (Fri/Sat Nights)
Pacific Time (PST)
2-5  AM
4:30 PM- 5 AM (Fri/Sat Nights)


SCHEDULING:
You set your own and wait to be booked! There are no requirements for how much or how little you schedule yourself.

I plan to post about VIPKID each Monday to be a resource and help give other teachers ideas as they teach! If you are interested in teaching or are already teaching, check back here on Mondays for additional resources!

*******************************************************

Have questions?!?! email me at erin00532@gmail.com

If you would like to apply, you can use referral code ERIN00532

I personally walk my referrals through each step of the application process and support them as they begin to teach. I have additional resources and tips and tricks to help my referrals be successful and save them time. If you are interested in teaching ESL, I would love to help you get started because this has been a huge blessing to me!


No comments:

Post a Comment